Space Shooter Done!

Aaron Black
2 min readNov 19, 2020

--

Well, I think I finally did it! I finished my Space shooter game. I just wrapped up with setting the spawn waves. I used a coroutine with a while loop inside of a while loop to accomplish this:

This ended up being easier than I originally planned. I was able to call all of the enemies randomly with a boss battle at the end. As each while loop went through it started with 5 enemies being spawned and went up incrementally by 5 each time. 5,10,15, 20 then the Boss. I didnt want to wait until I killed all enemies to keep it challenging. The Boss took on its own spawn routine. I had the boss fall out from the top, stop near center and go from side to side and shoot animated fireballs at me from above.

It turned out to be a pretty challenging game, Im having a hard time getting to the boss battle at the end. It depends on which powerups I get and how much ammo I use. Within the while loop I was able to update my UI on the canvas to display which wave I was entering.

Im sure there are a few little tweaks and some code cleanup to do, but I finally did it. I started 2 1/2 weeks ago and I already built my first game! On to the next level, cinematography. I am excited to start into this portion as it will open up the doors for so much more in the future.

One thing I love about what we are doing with GameDevHQ is that we are preparing ourselves for a versatile future. We will be able to branch out and work in so many different industries with the skills we are learning right now. It is an amazing opportunity to be able to do this and get a paycheck from it as well. This program with Aloha Connects Innovation will be part of changing Hawaii’s workforce and shifting it away from tourism dependent.

--

--