My Adventure This Far

Aaron Black
2 min readDec 8, 2020

--

Ok, so I’ve started the 2D Mobile Adventure Game. I am just at the beginning and am working with TileMap which is how I am setting up the environment. It is pretty straight forward at the moment, granted I just began the course. I am essentially painting on the elements in the environment in different layers. As you can see from the picture, it is pretty basic for now.

I just recently finished, with plenty to fine tune I’m sure, my 2.5D platform game. I just put some final touches on it this morning with a sweet background image and some background music. I’m sure it could use some sound effects, but it works for now. It turned out to be fairly challenging at times, but of course I found many difficulties are solved with simple solutions. I created an elevator lift that waited for 5 sec at each floor using coroutines and Vector3.MoveToward. I created moving platforms, side to side and up and down, a ladder system. I gave my character movements like running jump, grabbing the edge of the platform and pulling herself up, idle jump, ladder climb, and a forward roll. My character I chose looks a little like Lara Croft:

Before this, I learned about using cinematography in Unity by creating a game called The Great Fleece. There was quite a bit in this game that I realized Unity wasn’t just for building games. It was fun to put all of the cutscenes together, set camera angles, as well as building a functional game around all of that.

The Space shooter was the game before that one which in my opinion was the most challenging so far. It could be because I jumped into making that knowing nothing about C# or Unity. It was quite a steep learning curve but I have learned so much in the past few weeks. Its amazing how much knowledge can be crammed into a brain in such a short amount of time. The way GameDevHQ designed the courses are structured perfectly for this type of learning.

I’m excited to build my first mobile game, at the end of this one it looks like I will be publishing it to the Google Play store. I only have about a week left working with GameDevHQ and I am determined to make the most of it and gain as much knowledge and experience that I can. I would love to get myself set up for a career in game development. Until then, the Journey continues…

--

--