Dolly Track

Aaron Black
2 min readNov 25, 2020

--

I have been working through The Great Fleece. It is taking more time than I would like, but I am determined to engrain this into my brain despite the Unity glitches and computer crashes. It turns out my graphics card is not powerful enough to have the project I am working on work to its full potential. It is part of the reason for the crashes Im sure. My computer sounds like its ready to launch into space with how hard its working.

I have been working through the cutscenes the past couple of days, no coding involved yet. Im hoping to be finished with this by the end of the week if all goes well. I just learned how to use the Dolly Track with Cinemachine. You set it up just like a film studio would if they were shooting a real life movie in a scene like this.

It is really interesting seeing the scene come together the way it does. I never would of thought that when I was becoming a game developer, I would be learning about cinematography. But, here I am, making cutscenes for a video game. I have run into a few issues while working on this, either I miss one small very important element that was talked about very briefly, or the videos how they are now are slightly out of order from the original plan. Very small issues, but causing me to have setbacks. I have to watch the videos over and over again to see what I missed because my scene isnt coming together the way it should be.

Coming up soon is a couple of more cutscenes then working on the player movement. Also, working on the enemy AI. Should be fun!

--

--