Codeless days

Aaron Black
2 min readNov 26, 2020

--

Another day, another few scenes. Also another day without coding. I know I will be back at coding for this game soon, in the mean time I am practicing with some challenges on the side. I am, however, really enjoying putting together the cutscenes for The Great Fleece. Right now I am in the middle of the Beginning cutscene which is pretty involved. I had to add guards, security cameras, and Darren drops into the room on a rope. I composed about 13 shots that will, if all goes well, make a clip thats almost a minute long in the beginning of the game.

I actually feel I am getting the hang of using these elements in the Unity editor. Its pretty interesting how much you can do. Also it is pretty amazing how long it takes to “bake” the scene. My computer crashed twice while baking the scene. I was trying to get other work done simultaneously and my computer couldnt handle it. It crashed. Again.

These computer crashes are setting me back a bit. I am not making my way through this course as fast as I would like. I have been looking into buying a new computer, or at least one I can develop my 3D games on. I might have to break down and get a PC. I can get one much cheaper than a mac and much more powerful than I could afford with a mac. As Im looking at it, its about half the price.

Until the new computer happens, I guess I will have to be careful how much I do with my mac. Taking it slow, one step at a time. Ive decided if I need to bake my scene, I will do it at lunch or right after I finish for the day. I going to start on animating my shots and hopefully diving into the player movement right after. Until then…

--

--